Lunar Effect.

url.png

Does the moon really effect the way we behave?

Does it really influence the way our mental illnesses present themselves?

Some would argue yes, other specific scientists would argue no.

I would argue yes.

“Two studies have found evidence that those with a mental illness – example used was schizophrenia – generally exhibit 1.8% increase in aggressive episodes during a full moon period. However a recent study found no correlation of this in non schizophrenic people”

So is it a placebo effect?

The way I read this ‘study’ is that those with a mental illness believe that the full moon will effect them, so it does and due to their mental illness there is a definitive increase in their  neurological symptoms, but with those who don’t have any to start off with, there cannot be an increase, as there was never any to start off with, so it’s another ‘study’ to show that its all in our heads?

That’s the way I read it anyway.

I may seem as though I am contradicting myself here, so let me explain.

  • Yes, I agree that in a schizophrenic person, there would be an increase in the behaviours during the full moon period.
  • No, I do not agree that  there was no increase in a non-schizophrenic persons mind, why? Because there was no detection of any to begin with.
  • I do think there would have been a change in the non-schizophrenic persons mind, just because they couldn’t detect a change to the chemical, means nothing, because there was no chemical to detect in the first place; so how can you see a change to something that does not exist in their minds?

I’m not a scientist, nor a doctor. Mental health is just something I am very passionate about and want to highlight to those who don’t understand.

Do I believe in Moon Cycles and the behavioural effects it can have on people? Yes.

Do you have to? No.

Do I believe the placebo affect is a real thing? Yes.

Do you have to let it effect your moods when it comes to the moon or anything else? No.

Look, what I’m trying to get at is, if it’s effecting you, then it is. If it’s not then it isn’t.

We are the only ones who know our own minds, we are the only ones capable of controlling our own minds.

Our minds are all different and are all effected by different things, and scientific studies completed on two or three people, are not effective in telling what is happening to everyone, as everyones symptoms, reactions and behaviours are different.

Do what you have to do, in your own time and on your own terms.

Ro x

 

Author: rolaine4

21 y/o. Mental Health Blogger.

Leave a comment